top of page

Final Edits for film.

I may have mentioned those experiments I did previously to replace the egg scene, and it has come to my attention how much they can add to an otherwise normal looking scene. Inspiration came when I first decided to place the metropolis inspired eye effect as a background with animated eyes on circle, this made it a lot more visually captivating.


The tunnel effect also fit well with the nucleus scene as it seemed to simulating a journey, or the inside of a hollow tree trunk. I also used the opacity tool on the mask experiment over the devil cult scene and it lined up pretty well, added an uncanny creepiness.


The spider however was something I decided to make more original edits of, with the inclusion of a strange beetle I saw on the bus one morning. That explains why it looks as shaky as it does.


I also recorded my mouth to give the spider somewhat of a purpose to eat the beetle. I actually like this choice a lot, probably more than the others as it takes the minimalism away from the spider and gives it this surreal, unnerving human element, almost perverse.

This is the final film edit you can find on my youtube site.

Asessment:


I am thankful enough for how it turned out, I got what I wanted in and even a bit more. I just needed some encouragement to experiment instead of playing it safe. I do somewhat wish I played with the position of the circle as it barely changes until the end segment, although the students and tutors seem to like it.


I feel I could have gone a bit more extreme and disturbing, but I am thankful enough with the final result.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Evaluation

Goal and Audience Engagment My intention for this was to create a dark visual exploration of the subject mutation. A surreal nightmarish journey with, the hints of nature, the lies of the media, anima

Scott's second music track

GREAT! LOVE IT! There is a minor problem regarding the length though, there is a slight echo/fade at the end which just pops over the minute mark. I'm gonna have to give feedback, and if there isn't

Thoughts on Scott's 1st Music Track

I have recieved a first music draft from scott after I sent him the first draft of the film itself. Whilst I have originally wanted something more dark, he has seemingly gone for a relaxed synthwave/c

bottom of page