top of page

Evaluation

Goal and audience engagement:

So to start off, my original intention for the sequence was to be more colourful and bold to contrast past projects. They used black and white as some sort of crutch to avoid making something tacky looking if the wrong colour choices were made.


The Book I had chosen was Baboon by David Jones. It’s setting is in Tanzania, East Africa.

An intriguing setting to base a title sequence around as well as inform the plot/highlights of the book. Like I said, I want to intrigue audiences, have the visuals draw both children and inspire the adults.


As for the collective output, I am hoping the varying sequences get people agreeing and disagreeing, it’s all subjective after all.

Experimentation and Ideas I have experimented to see what was achievable within a week/weekend for this project. This has involved stop motion, cut out, Digital Colouring and Animation on After Effects.



Technical Competancy:

The second draft itself just manages to hit 3 or 4 seconds above the 1 minute mark. I tried to keep it brief with the only extra credit being the author. The digital tech/software used includes adobe illustrator for vectorising the cut-out scans, adobe after effects for animation/credits, adobe premiere for sound edit and an extra transition, a canon pixma scanner to scan the cut outs and a Canon EOS camera for the stop frame animation to use with dragon software. It’s more or less finished with only a few more blog posts to be made on it.


Critical Analysis and Evaluation

I like it but I feel it could have been better. I feel I should have experimented with the stop motion more as opposed to just one time.


But it was experimentation that helped me indentify the style I wanted for the sequence. The leopard cut-out helped me realise the type of lines/designs that would be harder to replicate on computer. So the analogue method of cut-out was scanned and expanded upon digitally and added into animation.


In terms of potential usage, the sequence itself could be used for publishing, marketing or for producing a film/tv series.


Key Areas for development


More detail would be nice and some more risk taking and experimentation with stop motion.


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page